Miami and the edge of the Keys

Prodesse Quam Conspici is the motto for Miami University but that can be challenging these days with Snapchat, Facebook the whatever TikTok is. In fact, I broke that motto just now by Googling it and pretending I know what it means and by writing these blog posts. I like the idea of capturing our sailing adventures in case someone has any interest. More importantly, I want to capture it before my aged brain decides to flush it with all the other important things I need to remember. Its beyond me why I can remember every line to a Monty Python skit, but I can easily forget a person’s name or the appropriate times to use (or refrain from using) sarcasm. At any rate, I intend to honor Miami University’s motto by continuing to document our travels and “to accomplish without being conspicuous”.

So we’re continuing our push to the Caribbean after spending a couple of months in Ft Pierce, FL. The waters of Ft Pierce were exceptionally clean due to the RAGING tides that swept through 18 hours a day. Boat carnage is the best description as we personally witnessed two spectacular boat crashes that resulted in destruction but no injuries. Sadly, we only have photos of aftermath as no one at the dock had the willpower to retrieve a camera instead of watching.

We saw 3 accidents in total and I think I better understand the panic described in an active shooter situation where the victims freeze helplessly because their brain can’t process what’s happening. I felt that same helplessness although in a far less lethal situation during these accidents with time flowing at half-speed. As I looked around afterwards, I noticed others on the dock were in the same shocked, cameraless pose; some with phones clutched in their hands hanging by their side. I like to think that if there were a life in danger, we would have snapped out of our trance and sprung into action and so I’ll cling to that thought!

For all its wrath, Ft Pierce was one of our most favorite stops because of the friends we made and people we met. Shaun and Van are brilliant doctors who are smart, incredibly happy, work out regularly and look fantastic. Among other skills, Van is exceptional at opening coconuts and taught us a couple of methods that have dramatically reduced the amount of blood required to open them. Of course I still manage to open them in an effeminate way with miniature tools but I’ll embrace that part of me for now and take this time to admonish dated macho notions!

My point is that Shaun and Van are tremendous fun and now great friends. I hope they won’t mind me showing this unflattering photo to illustrate the point and deflect your attention from my coconut opening photo.

We hope Shaun and Van will join us somewhere warm again so we can show off our island skills and pay then back for all the meals. We were fortunate enough to sit at their table many times and we strive to return the favor.

So now we’re in Miami after motoring through the Biscayne Channel past Stiltsville.

Its an amazing place built in the 30’s and then upgraded in the 40’s and 50’s. It became less frequented in the 70’s and 80’s after hurricane damage and in 2003, a trust was formed to help protect them.

There are seven remaining and you can see all seven (4 up close) by driving through the clearly marked Biscayne Channel.

I doubt we’ll be able to do any sight seeing while we’re here due to the planning, errands and health tests that must be completed before we can cross over to Bimini. We hope to grab some Cuban food while in Miami and I’m sure Kendall will take plenty of photos. Until then, here’s a parting shot of Miami from our mooring.

One thought on “Miami and the edge of the Keys

Leave a comment